12 thoughts on “APRIL IS POETRY MONTH : DAY 2

  1. I’ll give it a shot…although the last line is more like a near-rhyme.

    Bunny Blues

    My chocolate bunny
    unsettled my tummy,
    so I drank some seltzer –
    I’m feeling much better.

    Like

  2. trying to capture an image with words

    Night Run

    Powdered sugar under red velvet skies
    Tinsel-wrapped trees of rose wine raspberry
    Lone figure slaloms between firs
    Faster, faster, plunge into drifting mounds
    Shadows chasing, snow eclipsing
    Dizzying, whirling, blinding, hurling
    Wilder, faster, bet on disaster
    Pretzel sticks twisted against bloody sheets

    Darlene Franklin

    Like

  3. I Tried to Paint Your Portrait ….

    But there is no tint or shade
    Squeezed from a tube that can capture
    The twinkling blue of your eyes
    No brush strokes that can imitate the
    Streaks of gold in your hair
    When you stand in the nimbus of a sunset
    No blend of pigment, no touch of impasto
    No paint on canvas
    Can portray the essence of you

    Like

  4. Pingback: LOST IN A BLOOD RED SKY – THROUGH THE EYES OF A POET'S HEART

  5. LOST IN A BLOOD RED SKY

    The sun sets slowly,
    growing in intensity and brilliance.
    A waltz, a dance with the shoreline,
    I find myself where the sky turns bolder.
    As I’ve gotten older, I’ve come
    to appreciate the gradations
    from golden to molten,
    to auburn to full burn.
    To red sky at night,
    this word sailor delights
    in the sight of a blood red sky.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Alberto “la Bomba” Tomba won Olympic gold
    But is more more famous for his antics, truth be told
    Skiing master in slalom, giant slalom, and overall
    But his larger-than-life persona is what I recall.

    Like

  7. Okay, I’ll play.

    The poet Ted Kooser
    (whose name, by the way, rhymes with “goose her”)
    wrote a book about poem repair.
    Read, write, read, compare, no fair, despair.

    Like

What's your take? We'd love to read it!